2021 World Lacrosse Men's U20 World Championship

17 - 26 June 2021

2021 Lacrosse World Festival

21 - 25 June 2021
Limerick, Ireland

World Lacrosse Announces New Date and Name for World Championship to be held in Limerick, Ireland


World Lacrosse and the Limerick Organizing Committee announced on 5 May the new date and name for the World Championship that will be held in 2021 in Limerick, Ireland.

The championship will be called the:

2021 World Lacrosse Men’s U20 World Championship.


The competition dates will be 17-26 June, 2021 at the University of Limerick in Limerick, Ireland.

In March 2020, in response to the global pandemic brought about by the COVID-19 virus and based upon input from its member-National Governing Bodies and Continental Federations, World Lacrosse made the decision to postpone the 2020 World Lacrosse Men’s U19 World Championship. The event was originally scheduled for 9-18 July, 2020 in Limerick.

In April 2020, World Lacrosse confirmed the World Championship would be staged in 2021 with the following modifications:

  • The event age eligibility will be raised to U20, with certain dispensations still allowed. The lower age for eligibility will remain 16 years old;

  • National Teams that had not originally entered the event for 2020, but have an interest in doing so for 2021, will be considered by World Lacrosse.



Follow us on social media@2021worldU20lax

for all the latest info!



The Men’s Under-19 World Championships commenced in 1988 with Australia, the USA, Japan and Canada playing host. The championship tournament runs every four years. The USA has won all seven previous championships, but with two losses in the tournament in 2012 held in Turku, Finland, during the round-robin stage, signs of increased parity were showing. ​


Twelve nations attended the 2008 and 2012 U-19 championships, with Australia, Bermuda, Canada, England, Finland, Germany, Iroquois Nationals, Japan, Korea, Scotland, USA and Wales in 2008, and the Czech Republic and Netherlands replacing Bermuda and Japan in the 2012 event in Turku.  The 2016 tournament is being once again hosted by Canada, and includes an expanded field of fifteen teams which includes previous participants Canada, USA, Iroquois Nationals, Australia, England, Germany, Korea and Scotland, as well as newcomers Israel, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Mexico, Spain, China and of course Ireland.  


The 2016 tournament was once again hosted by Canada, with an expanded field of fourteen teams which included previous participants Canada, USA, Iroquois Nationals, Australia, England, Germany, Korea and Scotland, as well as newcomers Israel, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Mexico, China and of course Ireland.  In a close final, the USA came back from an 8-2 deficit to Canada at halftime to win 13-12, scoring the winning goal with 8 seconds remaining in the game to retain their gold medal. Let's hope for an equally thrilling 2020 event!

More Information


Visit the Championship web page for more information on the World Lacrosse Men's U20 World Championship

Visit the Festival web page for more information on the World Festival.



For more help and information,email lacrosse2021@abbey.ie

© 2016 Ireland Lacrosse