2022 World Lacrosse Men's U21 World Championship

Summer 2022

2022 Lacrosse World Festival

Summer 2022
Limerick, Ireland

World Lacrosse Men's U20 World Championship and Lacrosse World Festival - Postponed to 2022

As the global pandemic brought about by the COVID-19 virus continues to disrupt the international sport calendar, World Lacrosse has, regrettably, made the decision to postpone the Men's U20 World Championship originally scheduled for 2021 by one year and will instead stage the event in 2022.

In a unanimous decision by the World Lacrosse Board of Directors, taken on 8 December 2020 during its regular monthly meeting:

The World Lacrosse Men’s U20 World Championship will be postponed from 2021 to 2022. It is expected the event will still be held in Limerick, Ireland at the University of Limerick. The dates for the rescheduled event are to be confirmed, but likely will be late July / early August 2022.

To make certain athletes who otherwise would have been eligible to compete in the event had it been held in 2021 still have the opportunity to do so, the upper age limit for eligibility will be raised, on a one-time basis, to U21.

The Lacrosse World Festival will also be postponed to 2022.

Further details will be announced once the dates of the event are confirmed.



Follow us on social media@2021worldU20lax

for all the latest info!



The Men’s Under-19 World Championships commenced in 1988 with Australia, the USA, Japan and Canada playing host. The championship tournament runs every four years. The USA has won all seven previous championships, but with two losses in the tournament in 2012 held in Turku, Finland, during the round-robin stage, signs of increased parity were showing. ​


Twelve nations attended the 2008 and 2012 U-19 championships, with Australia, Bermuda, Canada, England, Finland, Germany, Iroquois Nationals, Japan, Korea, Scotland, USA and Wales in 2008, and the Czech Republic and Netherlands replacing Bermuda and Japan in the 2012 event in Turku.  The 2016 tournament is being once again hosted by Canada, and includes an expanded field of fifteen teams which includes previous participants Canada, USA, Iroquois Nationals, Australia, England, Germany, Korea and Scotland, as well as newcomers Israel, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Mexico, Spain, China and of course Ireland.  


The 2016 tournament was once again hosted by Canada, with an expanded field of fourteen teams which included previous participants Canada, USA, Iroquois Nationals, Australia, England, Germany, Korea and Scotland, as well as newcomers Israel, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Mexico, China and of course Ireland.  In a close final, the USA came back from an 8-2 deficit to Canada at halftime to win 13-12, scoring the winning goal with 8 seconds remaining in the game to retain their gold medal. Let's hope for an equally thrilling 2020 event!

More Information


Visit the Championship web page for more information on the World Lacrosse Men's U20 World Championship

Visit the Festival web page for more information on the World Festival.



For more help and information,email lacrosse2021@abbey.ie

© 2016 Ireland Lacrosse